Changes made to Victoria-New South Wales border bubble

A further tightening of rules to the New South Wales and Victoria border bubble has seen eight communities ejected.

Residents in six Victorian and two New South Wales local government areas will no longer be eligible for a cross-border extreme risk permit.

The decision has shocked locals and officials who were only notified of the decision hours before the midnight cut off and Cross Border Commissioner Luke Wilson who says he was not consulted at all.

Services Victoria had said it is unlikely work and education permits are to be granted in the area as they are prioritising medical emergency exemptions.