Tougher restrictions imposed on City of Penrith suburbs

NSW Health’s Dr Jeremy McAnulty says additional restrictions will be imposed on 12 suburbs in the City of Penrith local government area.

“We’ve seen the front of the epidemic move into parts of Penrith, adjacent to the areas in Western Sydney and southwestern Sydney,” he said.

“So we’re concerned, and the additional restrictions will help contain that outbreak emerging there."

The affected suburbs include Caddens, Claremont Meadows, Colyton, Erskine Park, Kemps Creek, Kingswood, Mount Vernon, North St Marys, Orchard Hills, Oxley Park, Saint Clair and St Marys.

“In line with restrictions currently in place in Blacktown, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Georges River, Liverpool and Parramatta LGAs, people in these 12 suburbs must only obtain food or other goods and services and exercise within five kilometres of their home,” he said.

“You can’t travel to other areas of work outside those areas unless you are an authorised worker.

“Masks must be worn whenever you are outdoors, except in a common outdoor area of a backyard, apartment, for example.

“And masks do not have to be worn while you are in a car with other members of your family.”